Search This Blog

Saturday, November 15, 2008

Is Vanilla Flavored Almond Bark Gluten Free?

I was recently asked if I knew if Vanilla flavored Almond Bark was Gluten Free. We have the CSA Gluten Free Product Listing Book and I was not able to find this information anywhere! The ingredients on the Plymouth Pantry vanilla flavored Almond Bark are as follows:
  • Sugar
  • Partially Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil
  • Whey Powder
  • Soya Lecithin
  • Artificial Flavor
  • Milk
If I was to make a judgment by ingredients alone I would say it was probably ok, however, I am not sure whether there is a possibility of cross-contamination in the factory where it is made and packaged. Since this is the case, I cannot positively guarantee it and don't want anyone to get sick. One option would be to contact the company to find out if it is indeed a gluten free product as well as verifying the cross-contamination risks. The contact information is:

Staple Food Products
700 Berkshire Lane
Plymouth, MN 55441

P.S. This is a little off of the subject, but if you ever send an email to me, please include an email address to respond to because I don't have access to your email address (It says it is a "do not reply" email) Thanks and I hope that this helps. :-)


D. Nakajo said...

Just made some simple candy with vanilla almond bark with same ingredients as you posted. I too assumed, based on ingredients that it would probably be OK, but I am not completely sure, and I cannot find any info on the internet. Have you found out any more info on this since November Sarah?

Keely Weiland said...

Ate Rice Krispies gluten free